Committees & Affinity Groups


Committees are ways for our Board and non-Board community members to volunteer their voice and time to our organization. If you are interested in learning more about our committees, please reach out to Alison Alwes (


Executive Committee

Includes chairs of subcommittees (not open to non-Board members).

Members include: Jason Smith (Board Chair), Ryan Hammock (Finance Committee Chair), Devin Wood (Resource Development Chair), Scott Lowry (Legal)


Governance Committee

Responsible for the review and maintenance of bylaws; serves as the Nomination Committee; in charge of Board ethics, best practices, Board structure, Board assessments; reviews staff personnel policies; advises CEO on personnel issues; works with the Finance Committee to oversee the annual audit (not open to non-Board members).

Members include: Jason Smith, Scott Lowry, Tonya Powers


Finance Committee

Provides financial oversight and ensures financial integrity, including the annual audit.

Members include: Ryan Hammock (committee chair), Ryan Doss, Sean McCallen, Evan Elder (non-Board, community member and Endowment Trustee member)


Community Impact Committee

Provides oversight for the alignment and coordination of Community Impact strategic priorities and resources, including but not limited to distribution of funds, community issues research and evaluation, participation in community initiatives and program services provided directly by United Way of Northeast Georgia.

Members include: Devin Wood, Lawrence Harris, Lisa Vaughn, Broderick Flanigan, Tony Mallon, Angela Moton, Dawn Meyers, Kathryn Lookofsky, Bria Brown (non-Board, community member), Sonya Hope (non-Board, community member), Sarah McKinney (non-Board, community member), Lorilee Sandmann (non-Board, community member)


Resource Development Committee

Organizes, prepares and conducts the annual fundraising campaign, as well as other means of resource development such as endowments, planned giving, grants, and special events, and to oversee all functions related to their purpose, including fundraising affinity groups.

Members include: Tifanie Ring, Devin Wood (Committee Chair), Jamie Young, Miller Heath (non-Board, community member), Lorie Petersen (non-Board, community member), Joe Vogt (non-Board, community member), Terrell Duck (non-Board, community member), Bria Brown (non-Board, community member), Lauren Papka (non-Board, community member)


Communications/Marketing Committee

Members act as a sounding board for the marketing team. They share insights on marketing strategies and tools, help develop and hone messages, provide feedback on marketing materials and overall help with United Way of Northeast Georgia’s message, marketing and external communication.

Tasks include:

  • Bimonthly meetings (every other month) for brainstorming new ideas, discussing current materials, reviewing marketing trends, and more
  • Review all marketing materials and messaging throughout the year and provide feedback
  • Share best practices and lessons learned as they relate to the organization’s communication and marketing efforts
  • Assist with event planning as is needed

Members include: Alicin Hendricks, Michelle Roberts, Sara Maya, Kevin Clark (non-Board, community member), Whit Richardson (non-Board, community member)



Women United group is a network of driven women passionate about impacting our local communities through leadership, philanthropy, service, and volunteerism. Our local Women United focuses on Early Childhood Success, focusing on childhood literacy and kindergarten readiness, through volunteer hours at various local nonprofits, hosting the Power of the Purse luncheon, and financially contributing to Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library programs in Clarke and Oconee counties.

Women United is a growing, global force of more than 75,000 women dedicated to providing for and creating better opportunities for our community neighbors. We celebrate the power of women to bring about positive change in their communities and beyond.

How to Join Women United

Women United members are donors who: contribute $500+ annually OR who collect $500+ annually in sponsorship to United Way of Northeast Georgia. Additionally, members must contribute 12 volunteer hours to programs through Women United and/or United Way of Northeast Georgia partner programs.

For many women, you may already be considered an eligible member of Women United and we are excited to meet you!  Please reach out and let us know if you are interested in learning more about Women United or are eligible to be a member of our group. You can email Alison Alwes for more information.


Jenna Burt-Weeks
Morgan Stanley

Elaine Cook
Piedmont Athens Regional 

Laura Lowery
The Cancer Foundation

Jen Welborn (2022 Chair)
Athens Technical College


This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.